Big Muff Diodes, Forward Voltage and the Big Monk SWAG

Big Monk

I have been entertaining and researching some specific Vf ranges for diodes in a Ram's Head project I am working on.

At the outset: I am trained as an Electrical Engineer, i.e. my degree is in Electrical Engineering. With that said, I'm a "Big Wires"/Utility Guy/Volts and Amps Man. IT usually takes 4-5 seconds of talking with @Chuck D. Bones for me to realize I'm not REALLY an EE.... :ROFLMAO:

As a guy whose works often involves field testing and troubleshooting, I DO consider my self and Applied Scientist, so I am always looking for reasonable SWAGs for things I need.

In this case, I'm looking for diodes with a Vf range of ~580-630 mV.

So what I did first was looking into my stash of 1N914 and 1N4148, which I have tested on my TC1 and catalogued in my Diode and Transistor binder.

The pattern I saw after engaging the datasheets was that for an If of 10 mA per the datasheet, my units were consistently testing around 670-700 mV for Vf. After consulting the I/V curves for the devices, it would seem that the TC1 is using ~2 mA as the test current.

So I felt I could reasonably infer 2 mA as my test current and consult some datasheets for prospective devices to give myself a general idea on how the devices I procur will spec out on my TC1.

This is not an exact science, but since I know that the units I have on hand provide the performance in the circuit, I can use this as a guidepost.

So I am going to order some units from Mouser using this methodology:

Vishay 1N4154

1659975304306.png

Vishay SD101

1659975434157.png

Good stuff! I’m continually learning things I don’t know that I don’t know…I just one day hope to get to that next level of actually just learning things I don’t know.

So, why that range if I may sir?

Good stuff! I’m continually learning things I don’t know that I don’t know…I just one day hope to get to that next level of actually just learning things I don’t know.