SOLVED Circulator loud popping issues

jwyles90

Hey all!

I just finished putting together the Circulator build (using a few of Chuck’s mods), and it’s making a pretty substantial pop every time I engage or disengage the pedal. Outside of that everything works as advertised and it sounds great, but the pop is a pretty big bummer.

I used some Tantalum caps that I had on hand since they were the only things that would fit for the 1uF caps, and I’ve never used those before so I’m wondering if maybe they have something to do with it? Does anyone else out there have any tips for isolating whatever could be causing a pop like that? My solder joints all look pretty good to my eyes, but if there’s something obvious that jumps out to you all that I’m not seeing, please let me know! Thanks!
7CB0CAD9-EB11-4E85-A5EC-2393CEA72A60.jpeg 4B134840-3EAC-4B12-8E30-020D932887E8.jpeg 3EFCD02C-1151-4F12-ACEB-B506A1B0CAD0.jpeg

Woke up this morning and realized that Tantalum caps are polarized, so I would imagine that that could probably be the culprit? So I guess my question is are these caps ok to use? And if they’re polarized, do they need to all be in the same orientation since there’s no polarization marker on the board?

I personally wouldn't use tantalum in place of ceramic or film capacitors even though you can

Tantalums are indeed polarized electrolytic capacitors and you obviously have to get the polarity correct

Normally with tants there's a good chance they'll just blow if you get polarity wrong but not always so maybe you've got that right

Check you have them all in the correct polarity most positive voltage to + side you'd need to work it out from the schematic

I'd also check the solder joints on your power supply capacitors C100, 101 and 102

I personally wouldn't use tantalum in place of ceramic or film capacitors even though you can

Tantalums are indeed polarized electrolytic capacitors and you obviously have to get the polarity correct