Clandestine Preamp Mod

DSoda

Hi everyone,

I'm new to pedalbuilding and I'm enjoying the hobby a lot. I bought myself a few PCBs from the site lately and I'm looking to modify the Clandestine Preamp a bit. Currently it runs one knob, one trimmer, and a toggle switch for the voicing. I'd like to change the toggle switch to a tone knob so I can get sounds in between the set tones.

Any idea how I can do this? Thanks in advance!

Hi everyone,

I'm new to pedalbuilding and I'm enjoying the hobby a lot. I bought myself a few PCBs from the site lately and I'm looking to modify the Clandestine Preamp a bit. Currently it runs one knob, one trimmer, and a toggle switch for the voicing. I'd like to change the toggle switch to a tone knob so I can get sounds in between the set tones.

Any idea how I can do this? Thanks in advance!

It's a very subtle effect no matter how it's set. Having built the Aion Ares with some tweaks from the Clandestine, I can say the toggle provides just the right amount of change between set tones.

You won't get any nuance or "in-bertweeners" with a tone control.

I don't doubt Big Monk's assessment one bit.

However, I think it's an interesting exercise that you may be able to learn from and implement in other builds down the road.

Take a look at how Joe Gore implements a simple "tone" control on the little-but-mighty Bazz Fuss:

1650667158261.jpeg

How this could translate to the Clandestine might be something as simple as this:

Clandestine Mod 2022-04-22.png

You wouldn't even have to breadboard it, just experiment with the PCB-build before you box it by tacking in some wires to the Switch pads, keep the wiring numbers as per the switch with the pot's middle lug connected to the middle switch pad; you may find you prefer lug 3 connected to pad 1 and lug 1 connected to pad 3, but easy-peasy to swap the wires to reverse the rotation.

I'd start with B100k, but you can try anything between B5k and B500k and see what works best for you.