Digitech Death Metal (Does not stay engaged)

Necro Mold

First-time poster and newbie here!

So a while back I acquired a Digitech Death Metal from an old coworker to see if I would be able to fix it.
I'm getting a bypassed clean sound just fine with the guitar plugged in but the effect only wants to work while I'm pressing down on the switch.
It's basically acting like a momentary effect and won't stay engaged when I let go. At first, I thought it was just a faulty switch so I went ahead and swapped it out for a new tact switch but still had the issue. I then looked at all the components to see if anything looked off and found a 330uf electrolytic cap above the "Mid" pot that looked a little swollen so went ahead and replaced that also. I still have the same issue. I've looked around on forums to see if anyone else has had similar issues but finally decided to ask myself before sending it back to my coworker.

I'm fairly new to pedal building and have only put together a handful of clones via Pedal PCB. Replacing components shouldn't be too hard for me but I'm unsure where I should be looking or probing for.

If anyone has had similar issues or has the resources that can help point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it! 🤘

Attachments

• unnamed (9).jpg
    unnamed (9).jpg
    542.7 KB · Views: 24
  • unnamed (8).jpg
    unnamed (8).jpg
    509 KB · Views: 24
  • unnamed (7).jpg
    unnamed (7).jpg
    710.9 KB · Views: 25
So I am not an engineer or troubleshooting expert, but if that is a soft touch tactile switch I would suspect that the pedal has a switching relay of some sort that may have gone bad. See what you can find out about u3 and search the web for a schematic.
Edit: check this thread https://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=120562.0