SOLVED First build: Glory Hole troubleshooting

thkhoo

Hi, I'm new into pedal building (new to electronics, actually) and tried to build a Morning Glory as my first project (first electronics project!). As this is my first electronics project, I didn't have the confidence to source BOM myself and purchased a complete kit from Musikding.de - it took a few weeks to get to me and was very well packed and labeled.

First, some background:
I have ZERO experience or knowledge in electronics. I can sort of follow a circuit diagram, but what it all means is totally over my head. I wanted to pick up a new skill and figured why not combine my fondness for music and pedals with my interest to learn electronics. I am working off the Glory Hole Revision 12.28.19 build doc. The wiring diagram (penultimate page) is a little different to the latest PCB but I looked up other builds on Google and various forums and figured it out (I think).

Initial Build:
I worked through the build starting with the resistors and diodes, then the IC, capacitors and transistors, and finally the potentiometers, and the switch. I then worked on the 3pdt (kit came with a PedalPCB 3pdt breakout board, which made things easy), jacks, power, and status LED. I made the schoolboy error of putting it all in the enclosure before testing. Nothing work - at all.

Troubleshooting:
I've read that the wiring stage is where most beginners mess up - and I did find this the most confusing part. I had reversed the polarity of the status LED, so I fixed that and the status LED now works. I went through all the wires and replaced a few dodgy looking ones with new wires - just to be sure.

The kit came with a IC socket but I had trouble getting the IC itself to seat properly into the socket once the socket was soldered to the PCB. So I removed the socket and soldered the IC directly onto the board, being careful to minimise the amount of time/heat to prevent damaging the IC.