Fv-1 debugging

captainmint

Hello, I have some problems with my spatialist(arachnid), I only get dry signal, only the mix and volume pots are working.
I checked everything other than fv-1, they are all working. I’m new to fv-1 so I don’t really know how to tell whether it’s burnt or not.
(I ordered stuff to build an audio probe, it takes forever to come during this time in Europe, don’t know when I will get it.)
Here’s the voltage read of my fv-1, the only thing that I’m not sure about is the crystal part, pin 9 and 10.
(PIN15 is 1.04, not -1.04, my bad.)

Could anyone help me check if there’s anything suspicious?
Thanks in advance!

F911EFA0-994D-4719-B308-8A362CA06410.jpeg

Last edited:
I'll have to open one up and compare voltages, but pins 1 and 2 don't seem right.
Pin 15 definitely shouldn't be negative.

Where did you get your FV-1 IC? Can you post a picture?

On second thought, the Spin logo doesn't look right on that FV-1 IC..... :unsure:

Let me double check the ones I have in stock tomorrow morning. Production was moved to a different manufacturer recently and it's possible the logo placement changed, but I don't believe that's the case.

On second thought, the Spin logo doesn't look right on that FV-1 IC..... :unsure:

Let me double check the ones I have in stock tomorrow morning. Production was moved to a different manufacturer recently and it's possible the logo placement changed, but I don't believe that's the case.
but in general it's annoying that we have to order everything as a kit from musikding, I have only done 2 projects, they messed up the components both of the times. If musikding stocked their fv-1 from a not trustworthy supplier I wouldn't be surprised.

Hi, I just had the same symptoms on a hydra kit I also got from musikding. The issue was a resistor wasn't letting the signal arrive to the FV-1... Musikding had mislabeled, it was 1 meg instead of 1k. Maybe check all resistors values ?