Hydra delay - not delaying

Brambasstik

Hi everybody !
This is my first build... I checked a lot of models and by the time I ordered my kit on Musikding, I'd forgotten that this one had a FV-1...
So I figured I'd still go for it... And as could be expected, I blew it ! ?
I found a first mistake : LED was not the right way (serves me for wanting to finish before bedtime... I kinda figured the long leg went in the square hole, like the capacitors, and didn't double check ?)
That's fixed, but I still don't get any delay. It powers up, I get a red LED, and volume and mix pots seem to work, but I only get the clean signal coming through. If I turn the mix all the way to full wet, no signal.
I checked all my solderings, and it's not the cleanest work of course, but I don't see a bad joint. I had a bit of trouble with the FV-1, I'd never soldered a sSMD before, I'm afraid I might have fried that ? How can I check ?

Anyone have an idea about where to start looking and what to look for ?
A couple pics if you can see anything relevant there :
20200514_145646.jpg
20200514_145638.jpg

Thanks a lot for your comments & help !

Last edited:
The C50K taper had a better response, so that is correct. (Either would work though)

The FV-1 is pretty tolerant to heat, so you're probably good there, but it might not hurt to reflow the solder on the pins.

The next step would be to connect the Right side of R5 to ground using a jumper wire. This will force the FV-1 to run the internal programs instead of the Hydra algorithm. It won't sound like the Hydra, but if you hear effects you'll know the FV-1 IC is working and can suspect the EEPROM as the problem.

Hi, thanks a lot for your quick input !
So I soldered the right side of R5 (right as seen from the component side of the PCB) to the ground pin of the switch... same symptoms. I reflowed the contacts using flux this afternoon, but I'll double-check !