I just built a Underminer sub-octave and almost no volume

kingbarnes

I built the underminer sub-octave synth. When not active, sound passes through no issue. Activate the pedal, and even with Volume maxed, there's very little sound. I have inspected it and can't see any issues. This is not my first pedal but it is my first failure; worst part is it's a bday gift for my bro. Of course. Only things different about this pedal during the build is I had to use an MPSA13 instead of the called for MPSA14, which wasn't available anywhere that I could find. I also had one 47uF 25V 105C Radial Electrolytic Capacitor instead of the usual 16V version I normally would use. Every other part is exactly to spec. I'm not an electrical engineer, just a hobyist, so I can't do "debugging" and getting all the readings I've seen other post. Basically, any guesses, anybody have this thing happen and find the cause? I mean, i'll blow my amp if i keep the volume cranked up and switch the pedal to bypass! Any help is appreciated but not expected since I can't give more info, save to say that all other parts in this pedal, save for the IC, I have used before with no issues. I am building a second one, which was to be one for me, with hopes that it will work and I can then gift that one. Thanks!