Leprechaun/EQD Rainbow Machine problem

ch ra

Hello, I've been building pedals for a few years now but I am new to this forum. I built up the Leprechaun and ran it through my testing rig. Right now, I get only clean sound when the circuit is hooked up. Since the schematic isn't up yet, I'm stumped about how to troubleshoot this but I'm wondering if any of you have any ideas. As you'll see from the photo below, I ran out of 1uF MLCCs and used a few box capacitors as substitutions, but I can't imagine that would be a problem. Also, I've not hooked up the switches or expression jack (though I added a jumper for the jack as seen below), I am just running in and out directly and do not have the magic switch hooked up--could that be it? I don't believe the pot connections are the problem--when the photo was taken I did light connections so that I could re-adjust them when I box the pedal, but since them I've made all of the joints for the pots clean and solid.

I'd appreciate any advice or info (e.g., voltages) that you might be able to provide. Thanks!

67950795_411233962820009_7688046139068645376_n.jpg

Last edited:
How odd. I don't see an EEPROM on this board. I wonder how that came to be, since it seems really unlikely that this pedal uses the built in programs on the FV-1.

Here is are some things you can check. When you have a project using an FV-1 chip, I would start by looking at the schematics for a couple of other FV-1 projects like the Arachnid to get a feel for how the audio signal is sent to the FV-1 on those boards. Then you can use an audio probe to see if the audio signal is getting into the FV-1 on pin 1. If no sound is coming in, you can search for a bad connection through the parts that likely go there. If you have an audio signal going into pin 1 (and probably pin 2), see if you have sound coming out of the chip on pins 27 and 28.