Mini Heterodyne Receiver

Very nice, very tidy inside! I've been putting off my first SMD opportunity.. keen to break the seal soon, though! Do you have one of those special iron tips with the solder 'reservoir'? Do you think I can drag solder with just a chisel tip?

Thanks! I just used the smaller, very long conical tip for my Weller. I put a tiny amount of solder on one pad, tacked the chip on, and slowly made my way across each leg. I think flooding and dragging would be a little cumbersome because the chips are a little “large” for what they are, but I’m brand new at this and hopefully someone else can chime in.

Note, FWIW, I recently assembled an FV-1 board (Octagon). This was just one SMD part to do, so I opted to try out low temperature solder paste from adafruit with a hot air rework station. This worked successfully for me. No special tape required to hold it down. I had one unwanted solder bridge which was fixed with some desoldering braid. I find the key is to use a small continuous dab. A little goes a long way.

That shimmer effect is a sweet ambient sound.

Note, FWIW, I recently assembled an FV-1 board (Octagon). This was just one SMD part to do, so I opted to try out low temperature solder paste from adafruit with a hot air rework station. This worked successfully for me. No special tape required to hold it down. I had one unwanted solder bridge which was fixed with some desoldering braid. I find the key is to use a small continuous dab. A little goes a long way.

That shimmer effect is a sweet ambient sound.

Cool! Hot air rework station looks like the way to go! What type of temperature do you need to use? Looks like you can get rework stations reasonably cheaply (~$60) I think I might look into that, thanks :) yes I have a ThreeVerb and love it! I obviously opted for pre-soldering tho ;)