Mini-Muffin Fuzz....Not Fuzzy

Preface: Noob here.

Troubleshooting the Mini-Muffin Fuzz. Passing signal, though only slightly distorted, not fuzz.

After C1, signal drops significantly. Virtually no prob-able audio at inputs of IC (pin 2 or 3). Output of IC at Pin1 is plenty loud, not distorted. Signal at C2 (post diodes and output of IC B) is distorted but more like slight overdrive, not fuzz.

Tried a new IC, same results.

Any suggestions? thanks!

1614719297134.png

Are your component values correct for C1, R1, and R2? C1 is merely a filter so sound should go through it just fine

Also, where did you get your 1n34a diodes? Just curious since i'm going to make a purchase soon.

Preface: Noob here.

Troubleshooting the Mini-Muffin Fuzz. Passing signal, though only slightly distorted, not fuzz.

After C1, signal drops significantly. Virtually no prob-able audio at inputs of IC (pin 2 or 3). Output of IC at Pin1 is plenty loud, not distorted. Signal at C2 (post diodes and output of IC B) is distorted but more like slight overdrive, not fuzz.

Tried a new IC, same results.

Any suggestions? thanks!
You won't get any signal at IC1-2 or IC1-3, that's normal.

There are a lot of bogus 1N34As out there. The ones I bought from Tayda are not Germanium, they're Schottky. The ones you have look like they might be real. Real Germanium diodes vary a LOT from part-to-part and because of that, not all of them will work well in this circuit. My guess is the ones you have are too leaky. Take them out, install sockets and try different diodes. Try 1N4148s to see if that fixes it, then we'll know for sure whether the problem is the diodes. I recommend always socketing Ge diodes because a) the heat of soldering can easily damage them and b) you're probably going to want to swap them. If you have any more of that batch of diodes, try measuring their reverse resistance with a DMM. Measure them both ways and report the higher reading.

Attention noobs: