SOLVED Muzzle LED hates me (question about bi-color LEDs)

Danbieranowski

Built a properly working Muzzle (from an audio standpoint), but the LED doesn't light up. I had to sub the 5k6 resistors for 5k1 bc it was the nearest value I had on hand. Is this too low and it's just killing the LED? I've never used bi-color before so I'm not sure if they behave differently.

I'm using these common cathode LEDs from Small Bear: https://smallbear-electronics.mybigcommerce.com/led-5mm-bi-color-diffused-water-clear/
So the LEDs shouldn't be a problem.

Not uploading pictures and such yet, as the whole pedal works other than just the LED (I've tried two now so I don't think it's a bad LED).

Is it possible to use this pedal with a single LED without the "gating" being shown (just as a test)?

Anyways, I'm just full of questions today! Party on ya'll.

Link to Muzzle build doc: https://docs.pedalpcb.com/project/PedalPCB-Muzzle-Classic.pdf

I haven't used bi-colour LEDs, but I have done a bit of work with RGB ones, and there can be some variation in the pinouts. I would double check that the one you got matches the PCB design.

Oh yeah, if you have a multimeter that will do a diode test then you can use it to work out the pine, whether it works or not, and what the voltage drop is. With the -ve lead on the cathode and the +ve lead on anode the LED will light and the meter will tell you the voltage drop. I have never damaged an LED like this. I have done this before to match (actually unmatch) LEDs for clippers on distortions.

Check what voltage you get on the anode pins

The common centre pin is ground and the 2 outer pins + volts as you know double check you're actually getting a voltage on them

I have had bi colour LEDs where the common pin hasn't been what I ordered

The easiest way to check it is common cathode is using your meters diode check

Place ground probe on the centre pin and red probe to either outer pin and it should light confirming it is common cathode