My first design -- multi effects loop switcher

Steve973

Hi, all. I have mentioned this to a couple of people (privately) so far, but there hasn't been much interest. I'll describe what I'm doing here in case anybody is interested in hearing about it, or maybe even messing around with it. I am designing a multi effects loop switcher that can be set up in either 4 or 8 "rail" configurations because the boards are designed to be modular. You can use one set of boards for 4 rails, or 2 sets of boards for 8 rails. That's the quick and dirty version. Ok, maybe not so dirty? I don't know if you're all over 18 or not!!! If this is completely uninteresting to you, then now is the time to bail out of here and move on to cooler and more interesting threads, because the deep dive follows.

Most of you are aware of Jack Orman's circuits, right? I am pretty new to pedal building, and in my searches, I ran into his site and found two circuits that really interested me: a JFET splitter, reported to be quite transparent as far as active splitters go, and an op-amp mixer circuit that also has a ton of positive commentary on it, too. I have been interested in an effects loop box so that I can isolate some of my bass effects pedals, and switch pedals or short chains of pedals on and off as needed, but I didn't see any with all of the features that I wanted. I grabbed these two circuits and taught myself how to use KiCad. I designed boards for both circuits that can be used alone, or they can be tied to a second board of its type. I.e., you can use one splitter and one mixer, or you can connect two splitter boards (and two mixer boards) together by using a wire between the Molex headers on the boards.