New Pedal Builder Suggestions

hohumbucker

Greetings all!
I am a long time woodwind player who has just started learning how to play electric bass.
I am also a retired mechanical/materials engineer who is just starting to learn circuits and electronics.
I thought I might try and combine those learning efforts and learn how to build some pedals.
I am currently going through Mims "Getting Started in Electronics" and have Anderton "Electronic Projects for Musicians" on order--so very much noob level skills and knowledge at this point (but I tend to learn fast).

I wonder if you experienced builders have recommendations for very first pedal builds that are fairly straight forward to build and fun to play bass with for a builder at my skill level.
I spent a number of hours on PPCB in the last couple days and think that the Distortion 250 and the Ungula might be good places to start. Anyone willing to talk me out of those? Or offer other options?

I have also been playing around with running my saxophone through some of the guitar pedals I currently have, which has been a lot of fun.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you might have. If I have posted this in the wrong spot, let me know and I will try to update that.

First of all, welcome to the hobby!