Noisy Pauper

ericrudd

Finished up my first build today. A Pauper pedal. The good news is, the LED light up. The bad news, there is a bad ground hum in both foot switch positions. Uggghh. Where to start troubleshooting?
Any help appreciated.

cc66a1f6-264a-465b-bdfe-3a6966ca90ed-jpeg.4291

Attachments

• CC66A1F6-264A-465B-BDFE-3A6966CA90ED.jpeg
    CC66A1F6-264A-465B-BDFE-3A6966CA90ED.jpeg
    352.8 KB · Views: 89
Made some progress, I guess. Switched the leads on the jacks and now it passes audio. All knobs affect sound. Not much “overdrive” to speak of. Tone control works. Internal treble pot works. External Three way switch does nothing, I don’t hear it “clicking” or any evidence it’s trying to affect the sound. Nor does the internal dip switches. I guess the next thing I need to verify is that I bought the right on/off/on switch.

I’m very new to this. So any additional troubleshooting ideas would be greatly appreciated. I’ve been looking at the schematic and have been checking continuity with the IC and the various resistors and other points. I believe I put the chip itself in oriented correctly.

Hmm. For the toggle switch, did you happen to get a monetary switch by chance? (Which returns to the middle after you switch it, so it doesn’t stay switched).

If you got the right one (stays in the switches position) check for continuity between your components in that area in the different switches positions. it *seems like*, from your description, maybe those diodes aren’t getting activated.

Are you getting a big volume boost? It’s sometimes helpful to report the voltage at each pin of the IC (which you have in the right way), and we can say if they look good.

I’m thinking...
-Big volume boost but light distortion means the diodes somehow aren’t getting activated.
-not much volume boost means some other problem with the amplification part of the circuit.