Nostalgia

Chuck D. Bones

Circuit Wizard
I started learning circuit theory as a kid by reading magazines like Popular Electronics. In the Feb 1968 issue, they ran this article on building a Fuzz Box. That article was a reprint of a DIY article in Electronics Australia from August 1967. I built one of these in 1975. The circuit bears a strong resemblance to the Fuzz Face. The schematic contains a typo: there should be a 1nF cap between the wiper of the FUZZ pot and the FUZZ/NORMAL switch. The circuit is not true bypass and in fact it does not run perfectly clean in "Normal" mode. I didn't like it for guitar, but it did sound cool for bass. The "how it works" section is not 100% correct, but it's close.
PE_Feb_1968_pg41.jpg
PE_Feb_1968_pg42.jpg
PE_Feb_1968_pg100.jpg
PE_Feb_1968_pg101.jpg

My earliest memory of 'electronics' is quite unscientific: I must have been around 4 or 5, my Dad had a huge tube radio with turn table in lounge, and to dial in the station it had a magic eye tube. I loved dialing around making the green light move, I didn't mind as much the station or program that was on, I most of all enjoyed tweaking the magic light of the tube. I might have discovered some music that way too I'd like to think...
So for me it was only to logical to plant a magic eye into some amp builds for pure sentimental and fun reasons, and I am very sure that the one in my Dads big console was also an EM81 like in the video here:

Indeed.
I'd recommend hardwiring the FUZZ/NORMAL switch and connecting it for true bypass. In the Electronics Australia article they recommend BC108 or 2N3565 transistors. Any high gain, low-noise Si transistor will work.