Pedal Mod for Bass?

Chuck D. Bones

Circuit Wizard
I've been asked to write an article on a pedal mod that is focused on bass. Any ideas? Has to be targeted at a commercial pedal.

The input caps are usually what I do, which is almost never. It’s really only necessary in some, but not all dirt pedals. I’ve been playing bass for about 35 years now. I don’t know everything, just some things.😜

I keep hearing that bass players like clean blends on their overdrives and fuzzes... what I have tried so far on guitar with clean blend I personally didn't like a lot, but then I ain't playing bass. I will refrain from making inappropriate bass player jokes at this stage.

Input caps are a good place to start, but you usually need more than that for a really good response. In my experience clean blend is usually favored because so few dirt pedals can handle the low frequencies well, so they make up for the sub-par response by adding clean blend. I prefer to tweak the response of the circuit itself. I'm not a bassist (I'm actually primarily a drummer, don't tell anyone), but I build primarily for bassists because somebody has to, they've been largely neglected in the boutique pedal world.

To the original question, the commercial pedal that I've been most pleased with modding for bass is the Rat. It's meh for bass stock, but with the right changes it really kills as a bass drive.

I also tried some bass mods for Klon I read somewhere that I really liked the results of. Trying to remember where I read those.

If you change the input caps, wouldn’t you also need to increase all caps in the audio path I.e. coupling/output? Just letting bass in the front door may cause the circuit to overdrive more, but you will still remove the bass frequencies with every cap the signal encounters.