Planning a RAT...

Big Monk

I've been told I need a RAT. I have this document in my files:

MultiRat.png
Is the move to find a commercial RAT and mod or to build one from scratch?

Any insights on what circuit to use? I've never used a RAT before so i am out of my element.

Why not start with the basics? Get a proco. They're cheap and readily available. Then you know what you're starting with before you try to squeeze the kitchen sink in there.

No Kitchen Sink. Straight up RAT. Just wondering which version or component values people have found works the best.

I know you said @thewintersoldier built one for you. Anything special about that one?

Reactions: fig
I built one based on the original specs (LM308). It’s decent. However, I built it with the intention of swapping IC’s out…which I did. I tried several. They all basically sound the same. I think I actually preferred the part that is stock nowadays (OP07?), but put the LM308 back in because I wanted to see if it would spout magic. It hasn’t. I regret not socketing the LED’s l, though…

if you go the mod route, plan ahead and buy three replacement pots from smallbear and a 3n3 film cap along with your mojonium op amp of choice (lm108/208/308)

If you take a look at that sheet, there really isn't a lot of variance apart from clipping diodes, inversion of the TONE/FILTER wiring, those necessitated by choice of IC, bypass switching systems, coupling caps without appreciable changes in frequency response, and a pull-down resistor at the input. (Certainly not the wide variance seen with the BMP.)

In terms of mods, the Ruetz mod ("sweep" on the Aion board) or @Chuck D. Bones' CONTOUR control are useful and can be taken out of the circuit entirely. Clipping options are an obvious choice: I prefer 2x1 Si diodes (e.g., 1n4148 or 1n914), but usually include 1x1 LEDs (Turbo) and 1x1 Si (stock) as well with an On-Off-On toggle.