Questions about Frost drive AKA VFE Ice Scream

ErickPulido

Hi first time posting here, I was wondering about this PCB, but the dual C10k and W1M (edit it is D1M) potentiometers are not easy to get,
has anyone build one and sub the pots?

The description of this pedal makes me wonder how nice will make high gain amps into meltdown.

Last edited:
You may try shooting a message to Peter at VFE to see if he has any stock left, he’s really nice about this kinda stuff.

I would make the Dual C10k if Peter doesn't have any. I bought the cheap Tayda pots and picked the wafers I wanted. It is pretty easy requires some pliers and a steady hand.

I would make the Dual C10k if Peter doesn't have any. I bought the cheap Tayda pots and picked the wafers I wanted. It is pretty easy requires some pliers and a steady hand.
I am not that good with my hands that would be my last option, already saw how to do it, thanks

I just finished a Frost Drive build. I'll post some pix in the Build Reports forum over the weekend.
I corresponded with Peter Rutter. He has some residual stock, but the C10K duals he has are 9mm and won't fit the pad pattern on the Frost PCB.

Here's the thing about the MID pot... rev audio (C taper) is the wrong taper for this circuit because the MID pot is wired backwards. CCW rotation makes the frequency of the mid hump go up; CW rotation makes it go down. As designed, the MID pot does not space the tuning out evenly, the top half of the rotation makes essentially no change in the tuning and the bottom half is too sensitive, especially near zero. See the simulation results below. Actual operation agrees. Two options:
1) Use an A10K dual, they're much easier to find. The rotation will still be backwards, but the tuning will be spread evenly.