reduce reuse recycle

swyse

Build Rating
2.00 star(s)
When I first started building pedals I came across vero layouts and then from there I found the kit rae big muff schematics and I realized they all had the same parts layout so I made my own boards to make any muff ever, the only problem was I had no idea what I was doing. I was very fortunate that this attempt worked despite its now clear poor design decisions. This is a circuit board I've been using as a scraper on my workbench for a few years and the enclosure was from my first attempts at an original circuit. It was a sort of low gain bazz fuss with one of the SWTC on the end, it was a nice transistor overdrive for what it was but I never really ended up falling in love with that version and redesigned it a few times. I've had this pedal kicking around unused for years and I just kept it on my workbench to quickly measure a 1590b for reference and that is basically it. Yesterday I was fixing a pair of glasses and saw the enclosure and the discarded circuit board and got an idea and remember I didn't say it was a good idea.

So I had this circuit board, but I needed to decide how to build it up. I have a bag that has salvaged parts from bad ideas or builds I didn't like. I took inventory of my pots and I had enough 100k log tapers for the volume and sustain, but I only had a single 100k linear so I thought I'd try the 50k linear as my tone control. I purchased a bag of 100 2N3904 for a fuzz pedal I make to get the hfe well controlled. I took the high outliers from that bag around 300 hfe and used 4 of those. I have enough resistors to last a few life times but caps are usually not well stocked. On a whim a few years ago I bought 30 or so 47nf caps because in my mind it was the most common value which may have been true at the time for what I was building, who knows. The schematic is somewhere in the violet ram's head/elk sustainar area, but with more 47nf caps thrown in.

1665619939029.png