Thermionic Deluxe - for a beginner?

pbexiga

Hello y'all!

I'm a newbie to Pedal Building - in fact, I'm quite a newbie to circuitry as well. I know the basics of soldering as I've done a few projects on my guitars. Swapped pickups, rebuilt entire wiring in my guitars, even implemented some more complex switching/push-pull configurations.

So I've started building an analog pedal board - got pretty much everything I need except a nice Distortion and Vibrato. I have always interested in getting into pedal building so I decided now is the time.

Am looking at building a Thermionic Deluxe as this would satisfy exactly what I am looking for in a distortion pedal.

Is this a difficult kit for a newbie?

Has anyone ever compared this to the original BE-OD Deluxe? how does it fair?

Found a site that sells the PCB with all the components in Europe.

Thanks in advance!

BuddytheReow

If you have good solder skills, that's a big chunk of the learning curve. In terms of difficulty for most distortion circuits, it really boils down to the number of components to put on the board. More components means more things that can go wrong and potentially troubleshoot.