Transcendence Boost

Alan W

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
I have the Holy Fire from Creation Audio; with a 48v power supply, you’d expect it to be pretty clean (before you add overdrive or distortion, there’s a knob for each). And it is—it’s been my benchmark, along with a Siegmund Micro Tube preamp, of just how transparent a boost could be. So, I had high expectations for this pedal. I play mainly clean, especially since building an Allen Encore Amp kit a few years ago.

The Transcendence will most likely become a permanent pedal for me; I’ll know more after having a chance to put it in my chain and playing at volume with it a few times—but, for now, I’m awfully impressed!

This is my first build report, since the other pedals I’ve been building the past few months are still unpainted and not labeled yet. (But being enjoyed immensely.)

A few weeks ago I found a box of old Dynaco knobs in my attic, and remembered a polished 1590 Hammond box I had, that I had polished without fine sanding, for a cruder look, for a pedal I can no longer remember, that would be a good match for this pedal. I wanted the one knob lower down on the box, and between that and the lower box dimension, needed to minimize the build height, so I put the taller caps on the underside. I love having a very neutral boost that can run off 9v! 32CA5E8A-D8BC-4EB8-B0B7-AFA10CF4C463.jpeg AC80BAEB-137B-421A-BF7E-3F1FF53255FD.jpeg

I have the Holy Fire from Creation Audio; with a 48v power supply, you’d expect it to be pretty clean (before you add overdrive or distortion, there’s a knob for each). And it is—it’s been my benchmark, along with a Siegmund Micro Tube preamp, of just how transparent a boost could be. So, I had high expectations for this pedal. I play mainly clean, especially since building an Allen Encore Amp kit a few years ago.