Tubes 101 - Intro to Tube Preamp Design

vigilante398

Authorized Vendor
Hi there! I had a couple requests to talk about my design process for tube preamps, so figured I would write up a super boring guide with way too many words and way too many pictures. I’m going to be using a lot of resources from https://www.ampbooks.com/mobile/amplifier-calculators/ which has some amazing online calculators for tubes so we don’t have to do any dreaded math. I'll post links to the calculators I used here at the end.

DISCLAIMER - I do not consider myself an expert on tubes, everything written here is my take based on my experience. I have a degree in electrical engineering, but I got it WAY after tubes were considered "obsolete" so all of my knowledge on the topic comes from hands-on experience and/or from reading books and articles from people that I consider to be experts.

Also - The voltages used in tube amps and even preamp pedals CAN KILL YOU and will hurt the whole time you're dying. I will always tell people if you aren't comfortable taking the necessary safety precautions to deal with high voltage, you shouldn't build or work on high voltage circuits.

So what the hell is a tube?

The most common tubes in guitar audio come in two types, triodes and pentodes (we'll ignore rectifier tubes as they don't handle audio). We’re just going to discuss triodes today, if I get super excited I may write something up about pentodes, but don’t hold your breath.

A triode is called a triode because it has three signal connections: plate (anode), grid, and cathode. The most common tube we see around is the 12AX7, which is a dual triode, it has two triode stages in it. The 12AX7 and other tubes in the 12A*7 family have two additional pins for filaments (heaters) and a filament center tap. I have a separate talk about tube heaters where I can go into depth later, but for now I’m going to start with triode gain stage basics.

So how the hell do I hook up a triode?