Which version of the Ghost Echo (1, 2 or 3) does the Spirit Box most resemble?

the_grumpy_gnome

They made several tweaks across versions, however the most important to me is the ability to self-oscillate with the extended 'Dwell' control. This change was made going from V2 to V3 in mid-2017.

Judging from the PCB it looks like an older version but you could probably make like V3. Upgrade the opamp to one of the low noise op amp like maybe OPA134? And the ocillation sounds like either a pot value change on a resistor addition to prevent it from going full feedback but hard to tell from what it says. Do you have a demo describing this effect?

Devouredeth: I'd be perfectly happy modding this circuit. In addition to wanting one of these pedals, I really want to learn more about reverb and delay circuits for future custom projects. I can eyeball distortion mods but I'm just learning about PT2399, so this would be a great learning experience.

Hearsay is is that V1 and 2 are pretty much the same, but EQD enumerates the changes between the 2 & 3 here. Differences listed include:

• “Attack” control adjusts 30ms-150ms of pre-delay - this was not available in V1, it was always set to minimal pre-delay. I can probably figure out how to increase this range in both directions.
  • Upgraded op-amps for better performance and lower noise - yep, that OPA134 or a NE5532 would be perfect.
  • Stronger reverb signal with 2x the output
  • Accutronics Reverb Tank