Intro and first pedal build. 3/3/22 Update.

MichaelW

Hey all, first post and total noob to DIY pedals.
Just wanted to say hi and show my first build.

I've been wanting a KOT for a while but being the "instant gratification" type, the 4 year waiting list is a non-starter for me.
So I bought a clone, (Demon-FX "King of Drive") which sounds incredibly good and I can't tell it apart from the real deal (at least on Youtube.)
Then I thought, "gee, I could just build one" that's kinda what got the ball rolling for me.

Anyway, I built the PedalPCB Paragon. Pretty much stock according to the build documentation.
I've been AB/ing it with my King of Drive clone. Seems like it's got slightly less volume. Also, because the Paragon has the charge pump in the design it's got a bit more overhead, I wasn't too sure about that, but I think I like it. Suffice to say I think I've been bitten by the bug big time. I've got 5 or 6 more PCB's coming and multiple orders from Tayda and Mouser for the next few builds. :)

This forum seems to be a great resource and I'm super impressed with the wealth of knowledge.

Feel free to give me any feedback from what you see and improvements I can make. I'm already thinking about some mods for another Paragon.
I'd like to find some way to put the high gain option onto some mini toggles and also add a buffer.

Michael-

IMG_2692.JPG IMG_2691.JPG

Phenomenal first looking build!!!!!! I'm assuming it fired up the first time? Enjoy your new hobby and don't forget to ask questions here. There's a TON of info on here.
giphy.gif

Phenomenal first looking build!!!!!! I'm assuming it fired up the first time? Enjoy your new hobby and don't forget to ask questions here. There's a TON of info on here.
Thank you! And to be totally honest, no it did not fire up the first time I plugged it in:)

I wasn't too sure about the hook ups to the jacks, the PCB's weren't real clear, just says "In" on one side and "out" on the other side.