UberDrive MOD questions

droneshotfpv

Hello fellow DIY addicts!
Today is a lovely day to get to building some of my PedalPCB projects that I have laying around. I have built several already, and love EVERY one of them, but I have a question about this particular PCB. Lets start with a quick bit of information.

Back when I was starting out playing, and wanting to be Zakk Wylde (many, MANY years ago... I am old.. haha) I bought an SD-1 and loaded up one of my guitars with EMG's, because I was going to be Zakk come hell or high water... I didn't REALLY know how to use OD's at the time though, and I thought cranking everything to 10 was appropriate to grind that heavy distortion...... in my Solid State Behringer V-Tone amp.... insert lulz here... Anyway, I sold that pedal, because it was broken, am i right? :)

Fast forward about 15 - 20 years, and I have been really into FX. Buying vintage, buying new, and building. I am NO expert when it comes to designing or really understanding Audio circuits, but being in Technology my whole life, as well as building Drones and other components, I figured I could easily follow instructions for building Guitar Pedals, amps, etc, and I have successfully done so. What I lack though, is the absolute knowledge of how to change what component to make sounds that I WANT to change.. I have some basic understandings of clipping diodes, resistors of course, and Capacitors simply from other things I have built that use those components. I understand that changing the DIODE with a lower forward voltage introduces earlier clipping, etc etc.