Beginner's troubleshooting guide

Mentaltossflycoon

While I'm not a beginner in this game, I know I have many large gaps in my troubleshooting knowledge. Is there a good one stop place to get broader understanding of the things that can go wrong and why, tips and tricks? I figure if there isn't, maybe it's something useful to create to have at the top of the troubleshooting page. I've always just dug around in other troubleshooting threads as best i can before starting my own/ growing my box-o-shame.

Honest take, I'm a know nothing and I mostly get by on luck and testing every possible component on a tc1 before populating due to color blindness.

RG KEEN: "Like so many things in life, being able to debug circuits is a journey, not a destination. I hacked on simple circuits in my teens, got two degrees in EE, then spend a few decades designing and getting designs released into manufacturing. I still pick up new debugging hints and tricks from skilled repairmen. Being able to debug anything, any time, is a lifelong ambition.

At the bottom of debugging is the necessity to understand what the circuit should be doing, perhaps on a part-by-part basis. Until you can do that, you don't know if what you see from the instruments matches the ideal operation well enough to be working. So debugging can really only proceed to the limits of your understanding of what the circuit does, not only overall, but part by part.