EHX Big Muff (Violet Ram's Head) - first stripboard

uranium_jones

So, over the weekend I just made a Big Muff modeled after the Violet Ram's Head schematic. That may not be so noteworthy, but it is my first time using veroboard, which I wouldn't have even heard of if it weren't for this community and in particular @Chuck D. Bones. This was also the first time I could ever build my circuit using parts I had on hand rather than waiting on a Tayda order. I think that's probably a sign that this is my life now.

layout: http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/2012/06/ehx-73-rams-head-big-muff.html
schematic w/ Violet values: http://www.bigmuffpage.com/images/KR_1973_V2_Violet_Schematic_1st_version.jpg
from the page kitrae.net/music/big_muff_history1.html

Here are some of my thoughts about the whole "vero" thing.

Pros:
  • just grab a board and get to work! No waiting on shipping or if a particular PCB is in stock.
  • you get more intimate knowledge of the circuit by having to assemble the whole thing from nothing.
  • Easier to try mods since there are probably extra holes to tie into the circuit.
  • If you are designing your own circuit (someday!) there's no need to learn complicated PCB-making software.
Cons:
  • A lot of time spent on double-checking you're putting the right component in the right spot.
  • far more wires since the potentiometers are not mounted to the board. Not a lot of opportunity to make them shorter the way I did it. Maybe I can work on this in the future to get the box less crowded.
  • the board is "floating" and all the traces are exposed - more potential for shorts. I ended up coating the strip side with old electrical tape.
Conclusion: stripboard really scratches my DIY itch better. More of a pain to troubleshoot (turns out I did not, in fact, ground my I/O instrument jacks, and I wired the volume pot backwards at first.) Sometimes I'll want to do this deep dive, and sometimes I will probably just buy a PCB.