Help needed with Aionfx Lumitron

pmerritt

Hi everyone,

I’m new to pedal building and am having a great time. So far I’ve built a Big Muff Pi, Tube Screamer and Honeybee from Aion. All worked as soon as they were plugged in. My luck has changed with pedal number four a Lumitron, Mu-Tron iii clone. My understanding of how circuits actually do things is almost nonexistent though I do understand the fundamentals of most components and I can read a schematic. I have a lot of troubleshooting experience, but in systems very different from pedal circuits. I have been using a Fluke multimeter and an oscilloscope for signal tracing. I have attached the schematic I’m working from and have made no modifications to the circuit.

So I set the board up for testing without any of the offboard wiring done. Everything on and battery connected… nothing. Disconnect the battery and I get signal through the unpowered board (though I’m not sure I understand how that is possible). I have triple checked all component values and orientations. All good. Voltage measurements are where things go off course. Using a battery, I got about .5V drop when connected to the circuit which draws 12mA. Seemed ok to me. What has me stumped are the voltages at the LT1054CP. Pins 1 and 8 get PS voltage as I expected. The -VA at pin 5 makes no sense to me. Looking at the data sheet (and the -VA designation on the schematic) I believe the 1054 is working as a voltage inverter. Therefore, I would expect to measure the same voltage as input except it should be negative. I admit my understanding could be totally wrong. What I measured was about 8.6V input and 0.8V at pin 5. This doesn’t seem right to me at all. The pin 8 and 5 voltages make it to the opamps as expected. Can anyone give me an idea of what to expect for the pin 5 voltage and, if it’s wrong, suggest possible sources of the problem?

I’ve done some more things but don’t want this to be too long for people to want to read ;)