Hex file too big

Buzzaw

So I'm new to programming eeproms and I'm having trouble programming a 24LC32A chip. I'm using the fv1 dev program with a ch341a programmer. I upload a bank of 8 patches via hex file and when go to program I get an error message saying my file is larger than the IC. Sure enough the size is around 21000 and the chip size is around 4100. What am I doing wrong?

Awsome thanks for the link I see what you mean. Now, just cause I'm kinda not that computer literate hahaha. How do I go about doing that. Do I upload the hex file on to Asprogrammer and then open the srec.exe file file explorer, type in the command and hit enter and it does it automatically? I'm such a loser when it comes to this stuff I know

You'll need to open a Command Prompt window then execute the command:
"srec_cat.exe <filename.hex> -Intel -o <filename.bin> -binary" (replace <filename.hex> and <filename.bin> with your filename)

If you aren't familiar with using Command Prompt it could be tricky ensuring you're in the correct working directory and that all files are where they need to be.... So, here's an easier way...

Download this batch file and place it in the same folder with srec_cat.exe and the HEX file you want to convert. Name the hex file "EEPROM.hex" then run the batch file. This will create a file named "EEPROM.bin", that should work in AsProgrammer.

It's important that your HEX file (named EEPROM.hex), srec_cat.exe, and the batch file are all in the same folder.

It worked. I was able to convert it. Thank you soo much. So, I have 1 more thing to ask I hope it's ok, generally speaking when you design a patch, before you save it to hex file is something that needs to be done first? I may be asking for alot and I hope you might have some knowledge of what I'm speaking of. So here's my dilemma...