I bought a HiFi amp PCB and I want to make it a guitar amp

megatrav

I was browsing eBay (after a few beers) and decided to buy an EF86 EL34 SE amp board.

I am sure that I could use a preamp into it and it would sound good, but I think it might be more fun to build it as a guitar amp.

I am still learning about reading schematics, so I am hoping to get my ass educated by you kind and smart folks.

Here is the schematic:

ef86_el34_schematic.jpg

And the board layout

8W EF86 + EL34 amplifier.png

I am interested to hear input on it!

Have you chosen a PT or OT?

You'll be working with deadly current, so please use extreme caution and discharge caps FULLY before poking around.

Mind the component minimum voltages. (y)

Edit: Be sure to get a good heat sink for the LT1085...I'm guessing you'll use the TO-220 package,

Last edited:
Have you chosen a PT or OT?

You'll be working with deadly current, so please use extreme caution and discharge caps FULLY before poking around.

Mind the component minimum voltages. (y)

Edit: Be sure to get a good heat sink for the LT1085...I'm guessing you'll use the TO-220 package,
Thanks for the tip Fig!

I haven't bought anything for it yet. I only have the PCB. I wanted to get a plan together before I bought anything.

I should assume that buying transformers designed for guitar amplifiers would help?

Someone on a Facebook group I am in mentioned the negative feedback, so I am looking into that.

Maybe @vigilante398 our local valve guru might have some input?

Maybe @vigilante398 our local valve guru might have some input?