No pedal signal for some of my first builds

mattly

I’m building my second and third pedals now, having successfully completed a the “Death Cap” Doom Bloom clone, and I’m having trouble with not getting signal through either board. I’ve had a lot of problems with 3PDT wiring and for the sake of troubleshooting am running straight to the board and out on both of these, and am connecting the ground pad to the SW pad.

I’m new at this and perhaps should have tried some verroboard builds first, or perhaps something simpler. I’ve soldered switches onto mechanical keyboards before, but nothing this involved. And I tend to learn best by biting off way more than I can really deal with and then powering through it. I’ve done continuity checking on both of these boards and signal flows as it should, and haven’t found any ground shorts. I need to clean the board a bit with some isopropyl alcohol, but the soldering looks like it should be fine. I’ve heard about “cold solder” joints and am not sure how to recognize or test for these. I got a DMM for doing these projects and am still learning how to use it, I’ve figured out how to test continuity and voltage, but not how to test resistors. I’ve double-checked that I’ve got the ins and outs going to the right jacks, and have been using alligator clips to connect the wires to the jacks. Both boards will bypass if I connect the in/out pads. I recognize that since I didn’t socket the ICs that I may have overheated them, but don’t know how to test that.

The first is a Calamity Fuzz, which I started before I realized the pots/switches should go on the back of the board:

B65FD0F9-FBAC-4A0C-935A-12216088365B.jpeg 3F55F59D-9D97-467B-BCDC-B81961B14E5E.jpeg