Using Falstad to Simulate Pedal Boards Before Building?

raddad92

Hello all,

First and foremost, forgive me for any questions that may be repetitive. I looked for previous threads and was unable to find any. Additionally, I am very new to circuitry and may have misconceptions on what I think should be happening, so please forgive me for my ignorance.

I was wondering if any of you have used Falstad to simulate boards before building them.

Currently, I am trying to build a Big Muff Pi. My build is based around the Green Russian, but some of the parts that are needed are not currently on hand (specifically, certain specific resistances and capacitors). I want to use Falstad with *similar* components that I have on hand to see if it would even work (since I lack the education to know how to do any of the math needed to figure it out without a tool like this). I recognize that this will likely change the sound, even if it works, but this is more for getting my feet wet on building pedals.

With that being said, one of the things that I'm having issues with is simulating the stomp switch on the circuit.

V7BMP_Schematic_GreenCivilWar_TallFontRussian.jpg

From my understanding, SW1,2, and 3 are indicating that they are connecting connecting to the Stomp switch. The problem that I'm having is making the simulation closely resemble the schematic above with the creation of a single simple on/off switch that only has two points of connection. The simulation has a few other switch options, but none of them seem to really replicate the actions of the stomp switch.

Is there a way that I can simulate a stomp switch using other components?

Additionally, I have questions about some of the information on here. All of the switch items have grounds near then that are not connected to anything. Is this to implicate that when the switch is toggled, it will change its connection to the ground?