First Build - Where to Buy Parts?

Hi there! I’m brand new to PedalPCB but was a part of the B.Y.O.C. community back in the day. I haven’t built a pedal in over a decade but I’m looking to possibly build a few things from here.

As these are not “kits” like BYOC was, where is the best place to source all the correct parts for these builds? I know PedalPCB sells some things but it looks like not everything, right? Like enclosures (and a particular diode that was listed in one of the builds I was looking into).

I’ve been seeing Tayda come up a lot and that seems to check a lot of boxes for parts and enclosures.

But I’m just looking for some general advice for someone just getting back into it!

The majority of my builds are prototypes and end up in a box for parts salvage anyway, so I go for economical except where it doesn't make sense.

Tayda for the bulk of things. Passive components, common in-production semiconductors, enclosures, most switches, etc.

StompBoxParts is my next go-to, they have more specific items you won't find at Tayda, some NOS components, knobs, less common potentiometer values/tapers, etc.

Smallbear for out of production components that I can't find at StompBoxParts

LoveMySwitches for ... well... any switches I can't find elsewhere.

CabinTech for reissues of out of production semiconductors like BBDs, VCAs, etc.

Mouser and Arrow when all else fails

Each vendor will have those one or two random items you just can't find anywhere else, so it never hurts to just sit and browse their site a bit and become familiar with them. I personally haven't had a bad experience with any of the vendors listed above.

StompBoxParts is the newest player to the field out of the bunch, and they're really good about getting new things in stock when we beg them. They also have a few PedalPCB kits if you're not looking to dive in head first.