If you could only have one...

boji

I'm still fairly new to pedal building - I got 10 pedals or so under my belt - and just finished my first solder spool and my first desoldering braid spool.

As you can imagine, when I started I had no idea what to buy, so I bought the cheap stuff where it was easier to find. As I'm in France, that meant Musikding.de.

When I upgraded from my ultra cheap soldering iron to a soldering station, it made a world of difference. I'm sure upgrading the rest will have great impact too.
So, since it's time for me to get good consumables and tools, I figured I'd ask you your favorite :
- kind of solder
- desoldering braid
- wire gauge/type
- wire strippers (I have some similar to the enclosed picture and hate them with a passion)
- wire cutters (I've already bought two and none are small/precise enough for my taste)

I'm looking for the right mix of reliability/ease of use/affordability. Also, the products must easily be purchased in Europe.

(I've searched the forum and found some threads about some of this stuff, but I felt that overall my question was specific enough to warrant a new thread. Hope it doesn't come off as sheer laziness!)

Attachments

• Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 à 17.45.12.png
    Capture d’écran 2021-07-20 à 17.45.12.png
    84.7 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
1) Kester 44 solder
2) Chemtronics Chem-Wik
3) 24 AWG Solid or Stranded (depending on the application)
4 and 5) I use a fairly generic wire stripper (mentioned in a thread here) and flush cutters (similar to these)... both were just a cheap "Get me through the weekend" sort of purchase, but I've had them for about 5 years and they're still going strong so never felt like either needed to be replaced.

I've worked with some crummy supplies and tools and can generally work with whatever I have, but the Chem-Wik is non-negotiable. I'd rather just throw the whole damned board away than use any of the cheaper stuff. :ROFLMAO:

For many years I use: