Mister Fuzz not F..uzzing

johnzero0

Hi Guys,

i wonder if you can help i just built a Mister Fuzz and ordered in some equivalent PNP 2N270 germanium transistors but im just getting high gain / distortion no real fuzztone. I am using sockets so have swapped them around in different positions on the board but i‘m just not getting the fuzz.

i measured hfe for them using my meter
i get 150, 874, and 611.

There is also a voltage inverter bypass below the board which says see the build docs but i cant see any reference to it in the build documents.

Attachments

• IMG_20230323_090854.jpg
    IMG_20230323_090854.jpg
    492.8 KB · Views: 30
  • Screenshot_20230323-091052.png
    Screenshot_20230323-091052.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 28
Well, i put some different Ge transistors in previously i had ac151s in and am getting a reasonably good sounding psychotic reaction / satisfaction style fuzz. Is there any tweaking i can do eg substituting trimmers for resistors for dialing it in?

I’m no pro, so take this for what’s it’s worth…

I think your first set of transistors (Ac151s ?) hfe were to high… stuff I’ve read about fuzz circuit usually talks about hue of 30-150…

From what I understand you want lower hfe in the first fuzz stage and a higher one in the second stage.

For the voltage inverter, looks like that‘s for Sw1:

16F03080-1D10-44D8-BC49-8457E1E27DD7.jpeg
Does it look Like you could mount a on/off switch on that part of the board ?

Leakage also plays a ginormous role in the FZ-1. You could have perfect hfe, but if your first two transistors aren’t leaky enough, the pedal won’t work right…

Does it look Like you could mount a on/off switch on that part of the board ?