Need some laptop/desktop help

steviejr92

Authorized Vendor
So as a result of my laptop going to crap I’m in the market for a new laptop/desktop. I have no knowledge on them and would like some suggestions. I’m currently looking in the 700 to 800 dollar range (if it’s a desktop I need it to include the monitor in the price range as well).I need something that’s going to be fast, reliable, and be able to handle all the various adobe/creative apps no problem. Thank you guys in advance for the suggestions.

Last edited:
What OS do you prefer? Are there any important specs for you (e.g., ports, screen size, etc.)? Do you have any requirements beyond being able to handle those programs?

What OS do you prefer? Are there any important specs for you (e.g., ports, screen size, etc.)? Do you have any requirements beyond being able to handle those programs?
I prefer windows but my dad insists on MacBook for what I’m doing which is designing the pedals. The screen size doesn’t much matter just not too small (anything under 14” I wouldn’t entertain. I have no other requirements I’m definitely not using it for gaming( although I’m seeing the gaming laptops have some good specs again I’m a noob to this stuff)

I keep thinking 32 gb of ram should be good enough right? 512gb SSD of storage should be more than enough.

You should also budget for some sort of backup system--whether it be an external hard drive or a cloud-based redundancy. I run a 13" MacOS machine with an external monitor personally and use an external hard drive for regular backups. Since you prefer Windows, I might not be able to give you the best or most relevant recommendations. I do think that you could save some money by going down to 16GB of RAM. However, it is generally best practice to get as much as you can afford to 'future-proof' the machine as much as possible. In some cases (read: Apple) you may not be able to upgrade (easily) down the line.