Shaka, When The Walls Fell! Madbean Edgelord Build

peccary

I posted this over on the MB forum but wanted to post it here as well, especially since I posted a troubleshooting thread about it here and had some folks help me out!

I have been piecing this pedal together for a few months now. Not because there are a bunch of hard to find parts, but because I *continually* missed ordering the parts for it. It probably took me three or four Tayda orders before I remembered everything, finally.

I was working on the artwork for a different pedal and had the idea to do something Star Trek related since I'm a big fan, but none of my ideas were coming out. I then remembered one of my favorite episodes of TNG where the Enterprise meets a lifeform their universal translator doesn't work for because they speak in metaphors from their culture and history. Picard gives the example of "Juliette on the balcony" to mean love, that kind of thing.

"Shaka, when the walls fell," was their term for failure, and I thought it was a pretty good description for what was going on for me.

Add to that the issue I had troubleshooting this pedal because I made a simple, dumb mistake, and it just comes full circle - like it was meant to be!

This was a fun build, and one of the more challenging ones with the number of components and breakout board. I feel really good about completing this one. Had I paid a little better attention when making resistors it would have come off without a hitch, but I'm glad I made a mistake as it help to improve my troubleshooting skills.

This pedal sounds great on bass, by the way. I really love Synth 1 with the long decay and how it gets a bit distorted at some settings. The auto Wah also sounds great as well and I didn't think I'd like it much. Synth 2 is a bit thin and probably won't be used much, but I'm glad it works.

Here's a couple photos. I'll get a sound clip in the next day or two:

image000000.jpg image000001.jpg

Last edited: