SVDS / SoloDallas Storm

These two women are out on the golf course. One of them tees up the ball and promptly shanks it into a foursome. One of the guys is hit. He groans and doubles over in pain, clutching both hands below the waist. The two women run over, all apologetic. The one who hit the ball approaches the injured man and tells him "I've very sorry I hurt you. I'm a physical therapist, and if you would allow me, I think I could relieve your pain."
The man reluctantly agrees, so the woman carefully loosens his belt and slides her hand inside his shorts. She gently massages him for several minutes and then asks "Now doesn't that feel better?"
The man replies "That was great, but my thumb is still killing me."

This is a clone of the SoloDallas Storm, same as the Closed Circuit Booster Limiter. I built the Aion Gale because the PedalPCB board was not yet available at the time. Nice tone, subtle limiter, plenty of clean boost available and the 386 can drive a mile of cable. Read the Aion build docs about the origins of the SoloDallas Storm, pretty interesting! The Aion board contains two optional capacitors, both of which I ended up installing. One is a 120pF cap at the input to filter out RF interference. Most pedals have that, so including it was a no-brainer. The 2nd cap is a 10uF in parallel with the opto's LED. I started out with this cap omitted. Notes at the bottom end of the scale had some distortion at higher limiter settings. Bench testing confirmed that the opto's response time was fast enough for the LED ripple to modulate the LDR's resistance at low frequencies. Some optos are slow enough that this is not a problem. I installed the 10uF cap and the distortion was gone. The limiter's attack is still plenty fast. I socketed the 4558D with the idea that I might try swapping opamps. I was plenty satisfied with the sound, so I left well enough alone.