TUTORIAL Why Your Clean Blends Suck ... or "How to (Clean) Blend"

jesuscrisp

Since there have been a couple of threads on the topic of "I want to do this pedal but with a clean blend" and "I want to blend two circuits" and I don't want to repeat myself all the time, here is a bit about clean blends. I have zero electronics background, am a self-taught pedal nerd and won't be able to answer ALL technical questions they arise. I am more of a f*ck-around-and-figure-it-out guy who loves to keep things reasonably simple, but also loves if things are engineered nicely.

So that being said, this is how to blend...

1. Buff n Blend
1708117022714.png 1708117416255.png
The DIY classic, the one that is always mentioned first whenever people ask. What it actually is, is a JFET buffer that splits into 2 paths into a blend pot. As pictured here, some versions use a single JFET, others do 2 parallel ones. From my experience it doesn't matter whether it's a single JFET or 2. Linear pots usually work better, ideally even using a smaller value, else you lose a bunch of volume towards the middle portion. You could theoretically also go for any other buffer you prefer, whether it's an op amp, BJT or MOSFET transistor. Regardless which version we're looking at, I personally am not a huge fan as it really is just a quick and dirty less than ideal solution that you should only resort to if you want to drop in a small footprint clean blend for whatever reason.

Why it sucks?
  • A direct clean blend will at best only reach unity volume as nothing is boosting it, hence it will be easily overpowered by whatever else you're blending it with.
  • It won't work with phase-inverting circuits (right-away) as it will put your clean signal out of phase.
  • You don't have a master volume so you'll always need to adjust your blend AND volume knobs.
What can you do to improve it?