Arachnid V2 Bypass Sound Only Troubleshooting.

Walter

Hi,

I am trying to assemble an Arachnid V2 pedal but am encountering some difficulties. When I plug the pedal into the amp and guitar the bypass sound works and the LED on the pedal lights up but no effect is created.(I did try reversing the amp and guitar cables connected to the pedal) This is my first time assembling a guitar pedal so I likely made an error in the build.
I do have a working Arachnid V2 that I copied the wiring diagram from.

Does anyone know what the problem could be?

Thank you so much.

Attachments

• IMG_0048.jpg
    IMG_0048.jpg
    566.5 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_0049.jpg
    IMG_0049.jpg
    435.6 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_0050.jpg
    IMG_0050.jpg
    488.2 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0051.jpg
    IMG_0051.jpg
    422.2 KB · Views: 19
congrats on getting into building pedals, and welcome to troubleshooting…

I would start with looking into trimming your leads, reflowing, and cleaning the flux. Also ensure your off board wiring is correct and cleaned up.

Is there any reason you did not use a socket for the eeprom?

I checked all my solder connections and they all seem good. I reflowed the solder on the ground pin for the eeprom chip.
Unfortunately this didn't solve the issues I have been having.

Does anything else seem wrong about the solder connections and off board wiring?
Let me know if I should post more pictures.

Did you solder the FV-1 yourself?

Have you checked voltages to the ICs. If so what results did you get?

Do you have an audio probe? If not you will likely need one.

I purchased the FV-1 pre-soldered.

TL074CN
Pins 1, 2 ,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,13,14 all read around 4.2 volts. Pin 4 reads around 8.5 while pin 11 doesn't have any voltage.

FV-1(I tried my best with these measurements, if there are any critical pins that I should probe let me know)