Muzzle switched socket

buhimoth

Hi there, I'm new here and am working on my second pedal.

I bought a Muzzle kit from musikding and it came with a 9 lug switched socket for the key input and I'm trying to figure out which lugs I need to use. Here's a diagram of what each lug connects to that, being a noob, I couldn't quite wrap my head around.

I need to connect to the tip (4?) and switched tip (?)

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 06.47.22.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 06.47.22.png
    86 KB · Views: 14

thanks for the reply, but I could only find info on a 5 lug socket in that thread

Ok. This is a complicated jack. Here is some useful reading: https://www.digikey.com/en/articles/a-deep-dive-into-audio-jack-switches-and-configurations
I know lug 4 is the tip, lug 8 is the ring and lug 9 is the sleeve. Now when the cable is inserted, this causes the tip (lug 4) to bend and touch Lug 2. I believe this is the switched tip. Hopefully, one of my more knowledgeable colleagues can confirm or deny this.
Awesome thanks. Yes it is complicated! Im
Wondering if I should just order some simpler sockets!

Awesome thanks. Yes it is complicated! Im
Wondering if I should just order some simpler sockets!
I think you can learn a lot from this input jack. Take a look at the article and give it a go. You can always get the less complicated jack if it doesn’t work. 👍🏻

I think that it is a little bit more complicated than the above.

The documentation calls for the use of tip and switched tip (and sleeve for ground is assumed - in this case I am thinking ground is via the physical connection between the jack and the case).

According to the Tayda datasheet, switched tip looks like a normally closed switch (ie, the switch is normally closed, but inserting a plug into the socket opens the connection (turns the switch off)).