MXR Carbon Copy Repair

nate_noise

Hi Folks,
Recently picked up a broken Carbon Copy for $20. Original owner says "all of a sudden one day, the output became extremely quiet."
I get a clean signal in bypass mode, but when the pedal is engaged it's extremely quiet but I am able to hear delays (if I crank my amp way up). With Regen cranked it won't self-oscillate though. (A hint as to where in the signal the gain drop is happening?) I've tried with both battery and adapter.

I've attached a photo of the PCB and also the only source I could find online claiming to be a Carbon Copy schematic (low res, kinda hard to read).
Any tips on troubleshooting what the problem might be? (I'm still a novice pedal builder.)

Thanks!

-Nathan

Attachments

• 2023-07-15-18.52.14.jpg
    2023-07-15-18.52.14.jpg
    726.3 KB · Views: 160
  • mxr-analog-delay-1.png
    mxr-analog-delay-1.png
    50.2 KB · Views: 153
Hey, havent had much time to dig in deep w mine. I tried reflowing the solder on a bunch of the larger connections, but it didn't help. I tried tweaking some of the trim pots but that didn't help either, and the guy who sold it to me told me it just stopped working one day without explanation (he had nothing to gain by lying about fiddling w the trim pots, so I certainly believe him).
I might order replacements for Q10-13 and try swapping those at some point. But realistically- I might just build a new delay from one of the PCBs here instead and just harvest parts from this pedal.
Keep me posted if you find a solution to your problem. Good luck!

Here is a schematic and some good information about troubleshooting the Carbon Copy:

How to distinguish between MXR Carbon Copy versions 1 and 2 and the difference in sound

FYI - there are similar discussions on the Carbon Copy failures and possible repair guidance on the other forums, e.g.,
https://www.freestompboxes.org/viewtopic.php?t=6559 where they suggest replacing SMD JFET Q10, and provide photos of the board.