MXR Carbon Copy Repair

nate_noise

Hi Folks,
Recently picked up a broken Carbon Copy for $20. Original owner says "all of a sudden one day, the output became extremely quiet."
I get a clean signal in bypass mode, but when the pedal is engaged it's extremely quiet but I am able to hear delays (if I crank my amp way up). With Regen cranked it won't self-oscillate though. (A hint as to where in the signal the gain drop is happening?) I've tried with both battery and adapter.

I've attached a photo of the PCB and also the only source I could find online claiming to be a Carbon Copy schematic (low res, kinda hard to read).
Any tips on troubleshooting what the problem might be? (I'm still a novice pedal builder.)

Thanks!

-Nathan

Attachments

• 2023-07-15-18.52.14.jpg
    2023-07-15-18.52.14.jpg
    726.3 KB · Views: 160
  • mxr-analog-delay-1.png
    mxr-analog-delay-1.png
    50.2 KB · Views: 153
If someone has a working Carbon Copy, maybe they could take a picture of the trimmers and that could work as a starting point? I assume they can't be all set up the same (obviously wouldn't need trimmers then), but with what, 12 trimmers it's going to be tough to be tough to try and set them correct otherwise.

Plus there's also the chance of something else being broken, if something broke and someone decided to mess with the trimmers to try and get that fixed, you could have a complicated issue.

I am sure it is doable (I mean, anything can be repaired). It will not be an easy task though. The first thing to do is to measure the voltages on the ICs and see if they are close to what the datasheets say they should be. If your supply voltages check out then you are going to need to trace through the audio path from the input with an audio probe and see where the signal is lost. Without a schematic that means you are going to have to trace out the circuit as you go. I suspect this is a long term project.