MXR carbon copy

RetiredUnit1

Hey!

Cats being cats, and me being forgetful, I now own one less MXR carbon copy. I opened it to look, it was all smd and a large area had been corroded. Gaaa....

Does anyone know which of the Delay pedals available at pedalpcb are the closest to a carbon copy? The 15% sale ends tomorrow so I wanna buy a board asap. I've been building tube amps for 20 years, and have made quite a few Hiwatt DR504's which are a PITA to build. I'm just now getting into pedal building and love it.....

Thanks, Allen

I believe the magnetron has similar delay times available, but is based on the Keeley magnetic echo. Maybe start there and see if it's similar enough based on some sound clips of the magnetic echo.

I believe the magnetron has similar delay times available, but is based on the Keeley magnetic echo. Maybe start there and see if it's similar enough based on some sound clips of the magnetic echo.
I saw that, and was thinking it would be great but it's not available right now. I'm on the waiting list. I just checked out demos of the spirit box. That'll do. The PT2399 chip is available at Tayda for cheap, and it's got great reviews as a chip that actually works instead of being DOA. So I'm ordering that today too.......

Edited: Oops, the magnatron is available. lol. I was confused with another pedal....

All good. My suggestion is to get several pt2399 chips for this one and swap em in. They won't be dead but there is often a lot of variance with the noise level so a few chips gives you the option to find the best one. They aren't pricey from tayda either.

The Carbon Copy is a bucket brigade delay and it sounds quite different than PT2399 delays, which are typically brighter sounding. You may want to look at the MadBean analog delays to find something closer. That being said, I haven’t tried the Magnetron so I can’t say for sure. And +1 to trying multiple chips!