SOLVED No sound when effect off but LED and sound work when switched on

KdubATX

Hello, this is my first build and for the most part all has been smooth but I’ve just finished the little green scream machine and successfully get the LED and effect when switched on but lose sound when switching off.
Using the power I/O module to make things simple and for the most part it was but I am doing a bit of unexpected troubleshooting.
Pics attached. I’m hoping it’s a small fix that will all be more apparent in the morning but figured I can share in the meantime.
Thoughts welcome.

Attachments

• IMG_6430.jpeg
    IMG_6430.jpeg
    448 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_6426.jpeg
    IMG_6426.jpeg
    309.4 KB · Views: 36
Last edited:
Im not a pro but it looks like you have a bunch of cold solder joints on your 3pdt and on the i/o too. reflow all those joints so the solder adheres to the component and the pad on the pcb.

Reflow your solder joints on the 3PDT. That’s where the on vs off signal switching is happening (and failing).

That said, your soldering needs work and I’d be surprised if you didn’t get other issues down the line. It always takes a while to learn how to solder effectively, so watch a video or two and practice on something if you can (and if you can’t , find something to practice soldering and even better desoldering).

The bubble solder joints are not effective connections for the parts. Also, looking at your component pads, you can’t really see any solder which has come through and formed a nice connection. Make sure you’re getting good contact from the soldering iron to both the component and pad, met the solder to the component and not the iron. Watch the solder melt and stick onto both parts. It takes practice but is essential. Trust a person with a drawer of shame..