Rosamp SLO 30 build

TillMack

Build Rating
5.00 star(s)
Hey guys,
greatings from Germany!
My name is Till.
I build many stuff in the last ten years.
I started with cables, build some guitar pedals.
Then, when I got my first microphones, I started building studio stuff.
Preamps, mics and so on.
The last 5 years I was building lots of tube microphones and tube preamps.
After not building anything for over a year I searched for something, that was like "the last thing".
I'm not a guitar player, cause I play drums. So my guitar skill level would only cover a Highschool punk band on low level. These ones, who play first on every gig and just play, cause your band mates knows some guys from the other bands.
Anyway.
I searched for a project what fits the style of my Band. Which is mostly hard rock/ metal.
I know Soldano since I started playing drums and get in bands.
It was always a "mystic". I also wanted to build a Soldano SLO 100 when I was younger and started building my first guitar pedals. But this was like 2001/2002, when the first clones entered the Internet and my knowledge level was 0.2 out of 10.
More then 20 years later I was searching for an amp kit and I found Rosamp who offered a SLO 30.
Some people also build this amp and I was really afraid.
So I ordered my amp kit and started building.
With the knowledge I get in the last years it was an easy build, but as you may know, working with high voltages is always a risk and you should be careful as hell and don't do this if you just start soldering.
The build went smooth and started without any issues on first firing up.
The part quality from Rosamp is awesome. Except the cheap aluminium caps on the power board. They went right through to my junk and I changed them to some Europe Chemicon ones.
IMG_7045.jpg

The PCB build was easy. Because, I do it so often in the last years. It was finished in less than an hour.