The Dark Side of the Steggo??? A New Gilmour Inspired Combo Pedal!

Fingolfen

Since I'm a big David Gilmour fan - I thought it would be fun to make my own combo pedal (though nothing as ambitions as the - I think it was a 5 or 6 pedal combo in one)... and in my defense I was left unsupervised... so there's that...

There are a lot of great resources that catalog the guitars, effects, and amplifiers that David Gilmour used over the years to create his amazing sound. For this particular build, I focused a lot on the information at Gilmourish, and decided to base the pedal off of two of my favorite Gilmour effects - the Colorsound Power Boost and the EHX Big Muff Pi. I have a lot of experience with both of these circuits, and as the two were often used together it made sense to combine the two!

Pink the G - 01.jpg

For the boards I decided to go with the new "Thagomizer" board my Ukrainian friend, South Obolon FX laid out. I went with carbon film resistors and modern metal film capacitors. The small value capacitors are all modern MLCC, and the electrolytic capacitors are all modern as well. The transistors, however, are all BC169 and BC184 like I use in all of my power boost build. The components in the charge pump circuit are all, of course, modern.

Pink the G - 02.jpg

The Big Muff board is another board that was released by Polish builder LoudCancer as a part of the Ukraine support effort (Steggo has made donations to various agencies in Ukraine to use both of these boards). By and large it's an awesome board, but there is one issue - the potentiometers in their default orientation operate reverse of what you'd expect (i.e. you have to turn the volume knob counterclockwise to increase the effect output). I've used this board before as well in a "Big Mutt Phi" pedal and simply altered the orientation of the potentiometers so they would operate as one would expect.