Calling all Etching Experts

twebb6778

So I decided to have a go at etching with sodium hydroxide, but can't for the life of me get the toner to transfer onto my enclosure. I'm laser printing on to high gloss 180gsm photo paper.

My first attempt was a failure, but seemed promising. The second attempt was woeful.

Has anyone experienced this? I feel like there's something I'm missing.

Attachments

• received_698827194227805.jpeg
    received_698827194227805.jpeg
    156.5 KB · Views: 40
  • received_254582515803725.jpeg
    received_254582515803725.jpeg
    102.8 KB · Views: 39
I'm far from an expert but try lowering your iron temperature say to around to 3/4

What I've found is if you iron for too long it adheres to the enclosure way too much and even if you remove it correctly it pulls parts of the transfer off

I place the iron flat on it for around a minute then iron for around 5 to 7 minutes then I leave under running water till the backing becomes soaked and peel one corner off keeping the water running between transfer and enclosure to help loosen it

@Hexjibber is the man for etching here's his tutorial in case you've not seen it

https://diy-guitar-effects.tumblr.com/etching

Last edited:
I iron at the highest possible temperature without issues. How are you prepping your enclosure? That part is key for adherence.

After I have the image lined up, I let the iron rest on top without applying pressure for about 30 seconds to a minute then make very slow circles with just the nose end of the iron until I can see the image fully through the paper. Then I go over it again slowly with the whole bottom of the iron. Once it looks good I throw it face down in a sink full of warm water for 5-10 minutes. The paper backing should separate at this point, then under running water I take the rest of the paper residue off slowly with a toothbrush or gently roll it off with my fingers.