Can I use 2N5458 jfets instead of the J201 for a Chop Shop?

Barnshart

Just bought the Chop Shop PCB and on the build doc it calls for J201 jfets.

I couldn't find any on Tayda in stock, same with on this site. So I did a brief Google search and was told the equivalent through hole part is a 2N5458 which PedalPCB did have in stock. So that's what I ordered!

But.... Will they work? This is my first build using jfets. I have absolutely no clue how to bias them. Figured I'd buy now and learn later. Just hoping they can actually be used! Any helpful tips would be appreciated when it comes to biasing.

Thanks!

I would also recommend j201s (Pedalpcb has smd and little conversion pcbs). When jfets are used as buffers, subbing shouldn’t be a problem. When jfets are the gain / clipping structure, then subbing them with significantly different parts will have a big impact of overall gain and the circuits ability to bias correctly.

I couldn't find any on Tayda in stock, same with on this site. So I did a brief Google search and was told the equivalent through hole part is a 2N5458 which PedalPCB did have in stock. So that's what I ordered!

But.... Will they work? This is my first build using jfets. I have absolutely no clue how to bias them. Figured I'd buy now and learn later. Just hoping they can actually be used! Any helpful tips would be appreciated when it comes to biasing.

Thanks!
Guitarpcb.com always has quality stuff.

The jfet stages on the chop shop will probably work with a 5458 fet, but they're most likely not gonna sound the same as the original. Your safest bet is to use sockets, if you like the way the pedal sounds with the 5458s, that's all good. If not, it is simple to change fets down the road